Just Stop

For the new year, I decided not to take any resolutions. ImageThe only thought I had was to be more kind to myself.

We’re always pushing ourselves to better, better beyond our limits – do more, earn more, paint more often, blog everyday, cook better, travel more. It gives me panic attacks. Each time.

2013 has been a good year and I’ve met so many wonderful people, but it’s also been the most mentally exhausting year. Our minds are so exhausted from hearing that we are not doing enough to live our lives to the fullest.

Do you realise how much we tend to push ourselves beyond recognition? This year, I decided to do less. I will not blog for the sake of keeping my blog alive. I won’t paint just to prove something to myself. And I will not bake just because I feel guilty the oven is lying unused. Instead, I will sit back and stare at things. I will listen to my body. I will sleep more. I will do one thing at a time. I will just be. I’ll be kind to myself.

This is a year of doing things, only because I want to. Happy New Year.

Leave a comment